Yet another pizz technique thread

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Alvaro Martín Gómez A., Aug 28, 2005.

1. Alvaro Martín Gómez A.

Alvaro Martín Gómez A. TalkBass' resident Bongo + cowbell player

Hi everybody.

We started talking about this on the BG side, but it was like hijacking another thread (my fault) so I decided to start a new one in the right place.

This is about the pizzicato technique. I'm primarily a bass guitar player, but I studied double bass during five years at the university with a Polish master and he taught me the most important things for a classical DB player (with German bow), but never talked about pizzicato. Only when the repertoire had some pizz passages he told me how should I play them, but never told me about playing jazz or something like that, so I'm kinda self-taught on DB pizzicato technique.