1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Your two cents... 800RB or SVT 4 pro

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by TRyan5289, Jul 18, 2012.

1. TRyan5289

TRyan5289

Jul 18, 2012
    Davenport, Iowa
    Hello all! I've got a few things I'd like to talk about. First off, I'm a newcomer to the world of bass. I'm a guitar player turned bassist. I picked up the bass just over a year ago when my buddy (drummer) asked me to play bass for his band, and I was reluctant to grab that old $50 bass guitar out of the closet and string her up with new strings. I then picked up a GK Backline 600, and was able to find an old 215 cab. I put some new Eminence speakers in the cab, and I was ready to rock and roll. Now that I had a working amp, I picked up an SR505.

Here's where your come into play! :hyper:

So when I put together my cab, I bought speakers that are rated at 300W and 8 ohms, and ran parallel wiring, for a 300W 4 ohm load. This is now limiting my possibilities for a professional setup for an amp. I've been fancying the idea of a GK 800RB or an Ampeg SVT 4 pro. Both of these have ratings that will work with my current cab, and was wondering what you thought about the two amps. I'm sure some of you out there have been playing the 800RB longer than I've been on this planet, but, that's why I'm asking the experienced guys right? :help:

I've also been thinking about throwing a 210 cab on top of the 215.

My style is modern rock/psychedelic/metal. I like the throaty growl that comes from the GK, but also like Ampeg's sound as well.