1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

1/2 Size for an Adult?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Lombax, Feb 21, 2010.

1. I've owned a 3/4 upright that ive been playing off and on for roughly 10 years. I found an engelhardt 1/2 size bass for sale and I am interested in buying it. I play a mix of folk and jazz in an acoustic trio. The 1/2 size seems more portable and I was wondering if it would be a big difference switching from a 3/4 to a 1/2. Any thoughts, suggestions, cautions? Please let me know what you think. I am 5'8". Thanks

2. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 20, 2004
    Madison WI
    HPF Technology LLC
    I am not much taller than you, and get around a 3/4 just fine. I think it's more a matter of technique than the size of your body. Also, a KC Strings Bass Buggie will make your bass much more portable.

My own thoughts are along these lines. I am not a full time pro, but just a day jobber and weekend warrior. I feel so lucky to play at all, that I want to treat every gig like it might be my last. So I will ask you from that perspective: If you've got a 3/4 bass in the house, are you really going to take out the 1/2 size?

If at all possible, give these basses a long trial side by side.

3. bmp

4. I spent quite some time playing my daughter's 1/2 size bass (which was really a pretty good student instrument - easy to play and in good condition), before I bought my own 3/4.

The string length was significantly shorter on the 1/2, and the volume was noticeably lower. Not to mention it was difficult to get into a normal playing position (though I expect with an extra long end pin that could be solved).