1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

2 cabs, 1 output

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by patlozrox, Aug 1, 2012.

1. patlozrox

patlozrox

Apr 10, 2012
    Munster, Indiana
    Losiniecki LED Customs (My own company)
    So I am getting a great deal on two cabs if I trade in my 1x8. I am getting a 2x10 and a 1x18 for 300 bucks if I trade in. Only one problem. My head only has one output. Is it possible to use a headphone splitter with 1/4 plugs, or would that cause any type of problems. Thanks for your help everyone.

2. MarcMurder

MarcMurder #IIAmerica

Mar 9, 2010
    El Paso, Texas
    i think you can daisy chain the cabs

3. patlozrox

patlozrox

Apr 10, 2012
    Munster, Indiana
    Okay, I'm gonna be a total noob right now. Don't judge me. What does that mean?

4. MarcMurder

MarcMurder #IIAmerica

Mar 9, 2010
    El Paso, Texas
    connect head to cab #1 then cab #1 to cab #2
    but it would help if we knew what cabs and head you have so we can give a definite answer

5. patlozrox

patlozrox

Apr 10, 2012
    Munster, Indiana
    Okay well I don't remember the models of the cabs but I have a basic 100 watt acoustic head. I think the 1x18 is a peavey.

6. MarcMurder

MarcMurder #IIAmerica

Mar 9, 2010
    El Paso, Texas
    as long as your cabs are 8 ohms and your head can hot 4 ohms then you should be fine

7. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    Cali Intergalactic Mind Space - always on the edge
    Song Surgeon slow downer software- full 4 hour demo
    Is your amp the 260 model? It's minimum 4 ohms.

You can daisy chain (connect one cab to the head, then one cab to the other-if the cab has two input jacks) 2 speaker cabs if each cab is 8 ohms. Then you'll have 4 ohms which the will like and work fine.