35" scale length 5er

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Stantor, Feb 12, 2020.

1. Stantor

Stantor

May 14, 2019
    Columbia, SC
    I'm fairly new to bass, only been playing for about a year. I initially decided to start with a 4 string simply because that seemed to be the popular recommendation for beginners. A pretty large portion of my favorite bands/bassists use a 5 string and, now that I'm feeling more comfortable, I've decided to try to make the switch to a 5er (budget is around $1200). Now, after endless research and some suggestions from TBers, I'm thinking that I want to get a bass with a 35" scale length. Not only for the tight B but also because I am very tall (6'8") and I think I feel a bit more at home on the longer scale length basses that I have played. Have only managed to get my hands on an Ibanez BTB 745 and a used Lakland 55-02, and both were about 8 months ago so theyre not exactly fresh in my memory. I wish I could find another one near me to try but it seems that I wont be able to try any sort of 35" scale bass without a 4+ hour long drive, roundtrip. So now on to my question: Sire M7 5 or Lakland DJ5? I currently own a Sire P7 4 string that I absolutely love and will certainly be keeping/playing, so I have the Precision box checked already. So I'm looking at getting a bass that does a different "job". The M7 is gorgeous (specifically looking at the natural Swamp ash) and it definitely goes with the style of the bands I'm trying to emulate (Grateful Dead, Phish, Widespread Panic, Goose). Almost all of them use a 5+ string Modulus, but thats a bit out of my price range. So I was all set to order the M7 when a particularly good deal popped up. A lakland DJ5 brand new for about $300 less than others of the same make/model on reverb. This bass looks amazing. Funky, classic, beautiful, sounds amazing from the few youtube clips I can find, but its passive, and the preamp is one of the main reasons I love my P7 so much. Looking for some input