1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

6 String Barker Build!!!

Discussion in 'Barker Bass Forum' started by pointbass, Apr 27, 2009.

1. pointbass

pointbass Jersey to Georgia Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

Nov 4, 2004
    Acworth, GA
    Endorsing Artist: FBB Bass Works
    After much begging, pleading, whining, crying and other fairly embarrassing childish acts on my part, Lee Barker has finally caved in and agreed to build me a 6 string fretless :hyper:. If you have paid any attention to my general blathering here at TalkBass over the years you probably know that I am an extended range bassist, and while I love my 5 string B1, I have always wanted to get a Barker ERB .... and Lee has graciously agreed to try some new techniques to get a 6 in my hands!

We have come to an agreement about the new build and actual work should be started within a month. I will be providing Lee with a 6 string neck for the bass, and he'll be using some newer techniques to get everything set up for the neck pocket to accept this wider neck. I'm in the process of obtaining the "donor" bass and expect to get the bass out to Barker-land within the next couple of weeks.

Lee has located some amazing fir stock that will be used for the body. The bass will be natural, no tinting or laminates applied. Here are some initial pics of this beautiful wood:

[​IMG] [​IMG]

I'll keep this thread updated with progress reports throughout the build, and I'll also have some details about it on my web site (link below). I'm really excited about this :D

Thank you, Lee .... :cool:

2. Phalex

Phalex Semper Gumby Supporting Member

Oct 3, 2006
    G.R. MI
    I usually don't say this to other guys, but that's some sexy wood!! It's gonna be a beautiful bass!!

3. Lee Barker