Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

A question about chord progressions/keys

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by dubstyle5000, Jan 24, 2005.

1. dubstyle5000

dubstyle5000 Guest

Jan 24, 2005
    Milwaukee, WI
    This is probably an really easy one so I figured I'd ask it while I'm still a newbie and get it out of the way.

Is it common for a chord progression (written by your guitar player) to contain notes from the key of the song?

For instance, if a song is in Amaj, will the chord progression be likely to contain the notes from the Amaj scale? Is it just as likely to contain notes from outside of that scale?

It's amazing how long I've gotten by without knowing the answer to this.

I guess the real question I'm asking is...

Does the key of a song have an impact on the chords that can be chosen to create that song?

My gut instinct is telling me no, because I'm sure if I sat down and played some bass lines to some songs I know, I would find a song in the key of Amaj that contained some chords outside of the Amaj scale. But then I thought perhaps I would come to find that the song was not in fact in the key a Amaj at all...

I hope this isn't all nonsense. I just need a push in the right direction with this. Thanks again!

2. Lyle Caldwell

Lyle Caldwell

Sep 7, 2004
    Memphis
    Yes and no.

First, let's look at the notes of A major.

A B C# D E F# G# A

Most diatonic chords (chords that fall within a key/scale) are built of triads. A triad is the most basic chord, and its built by stacking diatonic thirds, like so:

I A major: A C# E
    (the C# is a major third above A [the root] and the E is a minor third above the C#. All the other chords follow the same pattern with intervals of major and minor thirds).

ii B minor: B D F#

iii C minor: C# E G#

IV D major: D F# A

V E major: E G# B

vi F# minor: F# A C#