Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

A question about progress and direction

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by BioDragoon, Jun 24, 2005.

1. BioDragoon

BioDragoon

Jun 24, 2005
    Reseda, CA
    To start off...I am 16 (17 in 3 months), and I've been playing bass for about 3 1/2 years now. I am self-taught, using tabs originally.

For the past couple of months, everything I've been doing has been by ear...listening to random classic rock, metal, whatever...and playing it. I've had some jam sessions with my drummer pal, and it's all been peachy. Tried to teach myself electric (a year into it), but after playing things like Metallica, I've only succeeded at mastering power chords :meh:

I love my Fender Precision. It's an oldie...I think '86 or something, pre-CBS (and I don't know what that means). The action, as well, is really high. While I like it (not much "twang"), it makes it difficult to play certain styles, and with a pick.

Now, to the point of this post.

When I read everybody's posts (and everybody's anything about bass, anywhere)...there is alot of technical mumbo jumbo and "presumed knowledge" that I do not understand.

Where would I go about learning about the technicalities of bass...as a jobless highschooler, I can't afford any type of lesson...and yet I would like to learn slap and whatnot, but more importantly, all the engineering information.

It makes comprehension much easier.

~Aaron

2. You already have the most valuable bass resource in the world (IMHO) at your disposal -TB!!

Check out the Setup forum, ask Mike forum etc. Alternately, PM some of the members who you think might be able to help you out with your questions. :cool:

3. BioDragoon

BioDragoon

Jun 24, 2005
    Reseda, CA

4. WillPlay4Food

WillPlay4Food Now With More Metal! Staff Member Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2002
    Orbiting HQ