Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

A recommendation

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by SWiTCH, Oct 13, 2005.

1. SWiTCH

SWiTCH

Jul 20, 2004
    I've been playing guitar for about 10 years and bass for about 6 months. Now I'm about to start gigging with my first band, and I'm playing bass. Strange.
    The thing is, I need a bass amp and I know nothing about them. I've done some research but I don't know where to start, so I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction.

I play punk rock with a pick. I play with a ton of treble to get a really crisp twangy sound, so you can always hear it clicking away behind the guitar. I think examples would be Rise Against, NOFX, and Propagandhi.

My price range is <1,000 for the rig.
    If anyone could make a suggestion I would appreciate it. :bassist:

2. Mcrelly

Mcrelly

Jun 16, 2003
    Minnesota, USA
    well, I'll shake your hand for joining the Bteam.

well, first we usually ask alot of questions to get a good Idea of where you're coming from. $1,000 USD is an o.k. place to start, but I'll ask some other questions, make a knee-jerk suggestion based on my own trials and tribs about gear. first the questions??

Is this a basement or bar band?

How loud do you think the band is?

Do you have P.A. support.

Do you have a good back and not afraid to carry 70+ LBS regularly?

do you know if you want a combo or separate speakers and rack gear??

Some personal guidlines I'd suggest:

if you buy a combo (pre,amp and speakers in one box) I'd suggest getting at LEAST 100w with a 12" or 15". MAKE SURE the combo can also have an EXTERNAL cabinet attached to it WITHOUT shutting off the internal speaker. this is helpful in louder situations where you need more volume.

I'd recommend this combo for starters Yorkville xm200

[​IMG]