1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

A Unique Problem

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by ehque, Mar 26, 2006.

1. ehque

ehque

Jan 8, 2006
    Singapore
    Hey guys, im a bassist for a small church in singapore, and we'd like to do a live recording, and cut a cd to be produced in small numbers - mainly to raise money for a mission trip to east timor.

our equipment. we have a 24 channel mixer, and the set up for this particular session is 4 singers, A and E guits, bass, 4 mics for drums, 2 keyboards, and 2 backup singers. thats a total of 15 inputs, maybe with one more for audience noise. mixer has 6 outs that have been wired to monitors for lead singers, keyboards, guitars, bass, drums, and choir. also has 2 main outs for a auto-time-delayed overhead speaker configuration, about 10 of them bring sound to the house.

the bass uses a SABDDI, acoustic guitar's on a lr baggs DI, e guit's got a POD live. all are direct inputs into the mixer. we have no dedicated amps.

my unique problem is that we have no budget for a recording mixer or multitrack of any kind. however, i do have quite a few laptops. i was wondering, could i use that "jack halfway in" trick to get the unmixed signals out of the mixer, and record them in stereo pairs into 8 laptops using audacity, then transferring all the wave data (later) into a main computer running cubase/audacity?

would there be any problems with this, and would the sound quality be useless/reasonable/good/pro?

2. WalterBush

WalterBush

Feb 27, 2005
    Yuma, Az
    Full disclosure, I'm a certified Fender technician working in a music store that carries Fender, Yamaha, and Ibanez products among others.