Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

About Basses Generally

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by B.C.Rich_Beast_, Apr 30, 2004.

1. B.C.Rich_Beast_

B.C.Rich_Beast_

Apr 30, 2004
    Well, I am a new bassist (i have my bc rich beast bass since Christmas) i've bought a book to learn anf have also downloaded some tabs over the net. I would like to start lessons and so i can learn all the techniques and in this way i will have learned to play the bass and generally be good. I would like to know whether this is easy (about the lessons ) how much time they'l take and also i am thinking of learning electric guitar as well.Will this be easy???

Please feel free to send me your replies
    Thanks!!

2. Frank Martin

Frank Martin Bitten by the luthiery bug...

Oct 8, 2001
    Budapest, Hungary, EU
    No, this wont be easy - not a single instrument is easy to learn. To learn it properly, it will take many years - but it can be lots of fun meanwhile! ;)

3. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

To me, the biggest factors you can't be taught are;

> note selection/choice (what sounds best where ?) You listen to a song with a fine bassist and you understand why the bassist chose that note, because it has so much more impact than another note

> knowing when and when NOT to play (a moment of silence often has more impact than some show-off riff)

> being the pulse of the music (drummers can take off while you are the glue that holds it all together)

It's any easy instrument to learn IMO. It's a very difficult instrument to learn to play well. For instance, learning to form an C chord without thinking can be very difficult for a budding guitarist. But, while playing a C note can be easy for a bassist, it's all about touch, feel, dynamics, and knowing if that note gives the music the most emotional impact at that point in the music.