Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Advancing too fast?

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by jneuman, Jul 17, 2004.

1. I'm look for some different opinions on this from experienced players/teachers:

Up until a year or so ago I was bassically a self taught mediocre symphony player. I had a few years of Simandl I lessons from a semi-pro player when I was a kid, then stopped playing until seven years ago (15 or so years off) Then I quickly went through Parts 2 and 3 of Simandl I and some of Simandl 2, and just started playing out. When I started lessons again recently, my teacher auditioned me and placed me at the advanced level and started me on the advanced literature. Now I am working on 3-4 octave scales and such, and working on concertos. The problem is that I feel like I have holes in my orhectral technique and experience. I recently got a gig with a pro orchestra and I feel in over my head. I realy feel like pulling back and starting back a beginner scales and etudes with better focus, concentrating more on perfecting tone, intonation, etc. I feel like the more I learn the less I know. Should I pull back and re-focus or just have more confidence and proceed forward from this point with my new knollege. I feel like I am on the fast track and don't have time to wallow in easy material. Is this normal? What should I do? Help!
    -Jon

2. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001
    Maui
    I think that's pretty common. The pressure of a new, more difficult situation can feel like you've been thrown onto the fast track. It's also often a great way to leapfrog onto a new plateau in your personal development. The fact that you've been accepted into a pro orchestra should give you confidence to push yourself on to higher levels of performance.