1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

ADVICE FOR A FRETLESS-NOOB

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Hank Rearden, May 27, 2011.

1. Hank Rearden

Hank Rearden

May 24, 2011
    PLANO, TX
    I have been playing the bass guitar for about ten years, but have never ventured into fretless territory. I am fixing to get a fretless fender jazz and want to hear from you guys advice the difference on technique. Spare me the patronizing obvious ******** too please.

2. xjeremiahx

xjeremiahx

Apr 19, 2009
    Chicago, IL
    No longer a slave to GC.
    IME - it's all about your ear, how well you can tell when you're right on pitch, or really close. Knowing where your hand would normally fall on certain notes helps a lot, but konwing it when you hear it is real useful, espeically in a band setting.

it's all practice though, the more you do it, the better you'll get.

3. Hank Rearden

Hank Rearden

May 24, 2011
    PLANO, TX
    That's more like it. Thoughtful posts, guys like the one directly above.

Yeah, I've been listening to "frances the mute" a bunch lately for inspiration, and the fender fretless precision playing on that record is erection-enducing.

4. xjeremiahx

xjeremiahx

Apr 19, 2009
    Chicago, IL
    No longer a slave to GC.
    Well, if you're looknig for technique advice, you may want to post in the TECHNIQUE forum...

5. Hank Rearden

Hank Rearden

May 24, 2011
    PLANO, TX
    lol... good call

6. Antny

Antny

Jan 30, 2011
    New York
    My advice: take lessons for fretless playing. It's worth it, in spades.

7. cnltb

cnltb

May 28, 2005
    +1
    and practice quite a bit...and be humble.

8. Use open strings as often as you can. You know that those notes will be in tune and you'll be able to use them as a point of reference.

9. Hank Rearden

Hank Rearden

May 24, 2011
    PLANO, TX
    lol... how much more difficult is it?