Advice for teaching

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Super_Red, Jun 27, 2005.

1. Let me start off by saying hello. After lurking around some sites, this seemed to be the place to be (my first message board - I'm such a noob) :smug: There's a lot of great information and some cool cats on here.

I've been playing for 15 years now - everything from jazz and string ensembles, to pit orchestra, to studio and rock gigs. My instructor was a guitarist who taught bass, so much of my technique was self-learned. I stopped taking lessons when I was asked to replace my teacher at a gig I was subbing for him at (that was a pretty good feeling).

I guess what I'm looking for is:

Of those of you who took lessons from a bassist, what did they do right? How did you measure your progress?

Did you jam/improvise with them - if so, did they play bass or guitar?

Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks in advance - I know this is very general.

2. I never had any lessons from a bassist. A good friend of mine, who plays guitar, taught me the basic stuff that applies to guitar or bass and got me started on my own track, but most of my "training" has been self-study. I really wish I'd had an instructor (bassist) during my delicate years, as I picked up a TON of bad habits that I'm still tryin to break 10 years after I started. This site, and others like it on the net, have been an invaluable resource to my playing. I constantly see stuff that I've dabbled in on my own over the years, which would have been much easier to learn if I' done it the right way, and I say "Gee, THAT'S how it's supposed to be done..."

So yeah.. if you possibly can at all, get an experienced bassist to guide your studies. It'll save you loads of time and headaches trying to unlearn things that you thought were right.
  3. WillPlay4Food

WillPlay4Food Now With More Metal! Staff Member Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2002
    Orbiting HQ