Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

All-East Prep

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by mcnaire2004, Jan 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hi, I made the all east orchestra (seinor clinic) in tennessee. And this is my first year auditioning and I made it. I got 7th chair (should've been better b/c i beet every1 in warmups and I just played the minor scales the same way down as up i gorgot). But, I was wondering what you guys suggest to do to prepare.

2. Justin K-ski

Justin K-ski

May 13, 2005
    mmm, fill in your profile. Its fun, easy and every1 is doing it.

How do you "beet" or "beat" someone in warm-ups? Are your long tones so clear, powerful and smooth that no one else stands a chance? Do you play your scales slower and listen harder than everyone else? If so, good job, you're probably the best bass player in Tennessee.

Prepare for it the same way you would for anything else, practice the music slow and don't let any imperfection go uncorrected.

3. Thanks. And by beating some1 in warmups i mean i was able to play signifigantly better than the other basses in my warmup room. And i'll fill out my profile.

4. BGreaney

BGreaney Guest

Mar 7, 2005
    A word of advice. 98% of the time, how someone warms up is no way to judge how they are going to play in an audition. For some people, pressure gets to them and will affect their playing more than others. Others just don't seem that impressive warming up but go in the room and tear it up. The best thing you can do for yourself is block out what everyone else is doing and just go in there and do your thing.

5. Thanks everybody but the topic isn't warmups that was a side note. I was asking for advice on what and how to prepare now that i made all-east.