1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Alternating fingers: Does it need to be perfect?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Hardbassjunkie, Oct 9, 2019.

1. Yes

52 vote(s)
    21.3%
  2. No

192 vote(s)
    78.7%
  1. I am a self taught bass player that has been taking lessons and it has helped me immensely. Things like flying fingers have improve quite a bit. My main teacher is a professional rock musician who has not taught before. I decided to try out a person that was classically trained and 3 times the price. He pointed out something to me. Although I DO alternate my fingers, its isnt perfect. Sometimes I will use my index twice in a row. He says that needs to be fixed. My rock teacher has not mentioned anything.

What does everyone think? Does it affect the sound at all?

Ellery likes this.
  2. Samatza

Samatza

Apr 15, 2019
    It really depends on what you’re playing. Sometimes it makes sense and other times it can hinder you from playing cleanly, especially when you jump strings.
    I don’t do it religiously but I do most of the time as it feels comfortable to play that way.

zontar, eJake, Ggaa and 2 others like this.
  3. J_Bass

J_Bass

Feb 7, 2008
    Porto, Portugal
    The plucking hand, right?

Well, I don't agree with your teacher.

If the bass line allows it, I use one finger as much as possible, so that the sound is more even. When doing faster lines I alternate with two fingers, but sometimes repeat one or other, it depends.

Last edited: Oct 9, 2019
  4. Yes, the plucking hand. I have always just done things the way it makes me feel comfortable. Playing in a punk rock band it didn't matter too much haha. Now my new band plays a little more technical (not by much). The rock teacher is looking fine tune what I already have. The classical teacher thinks I'm doing everything wrong and wants to start from square one.

5. J_Bass