Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Am I on the right path to learning thoery?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by RicPlaya, Feb 5, 2004.

1. RicPlaya

RicPlaya

Apr 22, 2003
    Whitmoretucky MI
    I have been posting a lot about thoery and doing a lot of reading on TB. I started learning major and minor scales and came to a conclusion that I identified 3 main patterns for doing a major and minor scale. I'll try to show an example:

C maj cdefgabc
    ----------2-4-5
    ----2-3-5------
    3-5------------
    ---------------

------------4-5--
    ------3-5-7------
    3-5-7------------
    -----------------

--------------------
    --------------------
    3-5-7-8-10-12-14-15
    --------------------

I found a similar pattern for the minor. So I play any of these patterns in any key and it all fits anywhere on the neck of the bass (unless you have more than a 4 strings tuned efgabc). So would it be safe to assume that all scales and modes have similar patterns? If so is this a good or correct way to go about learning scales and modes? I also found similar patterns for triads. Before I go any further in this manor I want to make sure I am approaching this correctly. thanks as always! :bassist:

2. Slot

Slot

Oct 17, 2003
    Sydney - The Shire
    Its true to say that each scale will have certain patterns that can be used as guides. And there is nothing wrong with learning them this way, everyone does at 1st, however, this is visual learning, and even though it is a great way to get going, it will eventually bring you unstuck.

What your doing is good though, because your not limiting yourself to the one pattern. The more patterns and variations you work on, the more you will learn each scale's defined "interval pattern", other than just a couple of set finger patterns(if that makes sense)