1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ampeg 200 watt all-tube SVT-VR?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by SactoBass, Aug 30, 2017.

1. SactoBass

SactoBass A retired civil engineer who likes all-tube amps! Supporting Member

Hello TB'ers! I have been playing bass for the past 45 years (I'm now 61). And I have been a member of Talkbass since 2009. I have owned so many different amp rigs over the years that it's embarrassing (including a vintage V4B, SVT-VR, and SVT-CL). And my all-time favorite amp was the USA-made Ampeg SVT-VR. What tone! And what "feel!" But at my age I can't lift an 80+ pound amp any longer, and I never really needed the full 300 watts of all-tube Ampeg power. I have also owned the V4B (vintage), but 100 watts didn't quite provide enough "clean" tube power for my preference.

Okay, enough about me.

Over the years, there are two things I have noticed regarding some bassists on Talkbass (and other bassists not on Talkbass) who prefer all-tube Ampeg amps because of the tone and feel. Those two things I have noticed are:
    • Some bassists feel that the 100-watt all-tube V4B doesn't quite provide enough clean power for their needs.
    • Some bassists feel that the 300-watt all-tube SVT provides a bit too much power (too loud by the time you get to that lovely brink of power tube saturation), and is difficult to lift the amp at 80+ pounds.
    This leads me to the following question:

Why doesn't Ampeg produce a 200-watt all-tube SVT?

It seems to me that such an amp (most likely using four 6550 power tubes) would provide just the right amount of all-tube power for many scenarios for some bassists seeking the Ampeg tone and feel, and perhaps it could be made to weigh somewhere around 60 pounds (still using traditional Ei iron transformers for power supply and output).