1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ampeg 410 Classic questions...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Kmay, May 26, 2012.

1. Kmay

Kmay

Dec 18, 2011
    Nashville, TN
    Ok,
    I am a bit new at the bass playing thing. Only been playing bass for a couple of years. So I went out and got an Ampeg 410 Classic used.
    I have, or am having, a few issues with it. I have searced the web and these forums best I could to find some info, but posting a thread seems to be the quickest way...
    The cab has 4 10" eminence speakers in them. Seriel number is: 10401A and they are 4ohms. Are these stock Ampeg speakers that usually come in these cabs? Also, on another thread I read that someone elses Classic 410 is sealed...well mine has 3 ports in the bottom of it. About 2 or 2.5" diameter. Is this normal?
    The reason I am curious is because the guy I got it from works on amps, cabs and guitars...and I was told he may have modded this cab. It still has the tweeter in it...and it is physically hooked up...but I cant seem to hear it or get any difference from sound when I turn the knob on the back.
    So, in conclusion:
    Do I have a true Ampeg Classic cab? Or one that has been tampered with? It seems that it is wired in series? Is this correct? For 4 4ohm speakers seems like it would have to be.
    Any info, helpful advice or solutions is more than welcomed. Atm, I cant stand the sound I am getting from this cab. It sounds nothing like the ones in stores or anyone elses rigs. So I would like to fix it if it is a cheaper solution than getting an entirely new cab.
    Thanks for anyones help.

2. Hey,

Post a pic would help

3. pics!

And telling us which model you think you have - what does it say on the Jack plate.

4. Sounds like an SVT410HLF to me.

Is it boomy? Picture, please.

5. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX