1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ampeg B2RE?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by MOTORHEADBANGER, Apr 4, 2009.

1. MOTORHEADBANGER

MOTORHEADBANGER Spud-boy looking for a real tomato

Dec 23, 2008
    Sidney, Indiana
    I was recently offered an Ampeg B2RE 450watt head for $200. I have no experience with this product, so I did some research and the reviews were very mixed. So I would really like some advice for this product from anyone who has it or has used it. I am planing on using it with my old Fender Bassman 4x10. Any advice would be extremely helpful.

2. BullHorn

BullHorn

Nov 23, 2006
    Israel
    I had the B1-RE for a while, I liked it's sound alot, I just disliked it's small power. If the B2-RE sounds the same as the B1-RE and just has more power, than for $200, you should snatch it asap. Iirc, a new one costs around $600.

It's the poor-man's Ampeg.

-EDIT: p.s., I don't know anything about it's durability, I've had it for a short time. Worked fine...

3. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    Check and see where (and when) it was made. If it says made by SLM in the USA, grab it. That's a great price. If it has these letters, ODUL, perhaps not in that order, be very careful.

4. Gnosticbass

Gnosticbass

Dec 24, 2006
    USA
    The USA models were made very well. I play through a B2R that I bought used in 2003 and its never let me down. Volume sound wise it is what it is a soild state amp that said its been a good amp I've had no issues with it whatsoever.

5. georgestrings

georgestrings Banned

Nov 5, 2005
    Although I don't think much of those amps, that's a pretty good price for one - even if you find it isn't for you, you'll easily get your money back, and maybe even a little profit...

I'd say go for it...

- georgestrings