1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ampeg SCR-DI vs Tech 21 Sansamp BDDI

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by recode, Mar 18, 2018.

1. SCR-DI

34 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. BDDI

34 vote(s)
    50.0%
  1. recode

recode

Sep 10, 2013
    Latvia
    Hi guys! First of all, I got to apologize for creating a thread that already been discussed a million times, but let me tell you my story. I've been using Tech 21 VT Bass V2 for years, about 5 years now if to be precise and it was doing fine, but I always felt like it's lacks something. The problem is that for me drive on this unit is very unusable, because it doesn't have a Blend function and bass get lost in the mix easily even if i put drive to about 12 o'clock. Another thing that i don't like is it's lows, they are muddy, when i try to boost the bass, it doesn't add kick and punch to the sound, but muddiness instead, it doesn't sound tight. So lately i thought that i need to get a regular Sansamp BDDI, because a lot of folks here had the same issue with VT Bass as I do and BDDI helped them to resolve this. I also like the fact that it has blend function, because i'm 100% sure the I will never use Blend function on full like Tech 21 suggests, because again I want to blend clean signal with driven to retain lows and punch. So the thing is I don't know which one should i get Ampeg SCR-DI or Tech 21 BDDI. I don't use a low of drive in my sound, but still want it to be separate from clean signal. About Ampeg, I had a chance to play them live and I absolutely love them, if I would play a real amps, I would go for Ampeg amps for sure, but my idea is to play ampless live and to have i D.I. that i can give to a sound guy and make everyone happy. Make you vote please.

2. recode

recode

Sep 10, 2013
    Latvia