1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

An interesting combination...Please read on...

Discussion in 'Welcome Forum - New Member Intros' started by ModernTradition, May 7, 2006.

1. ModernTradition

ModernTradition

May 7, 2006
    To all who read my incessant ramblings...

Hello, I'm a 17 year old bassist from Canada and have been playing about 5 years now. I'll be upfront with this right now, I've been blessed with a natural skill with bass and my acquisition of technique and formulation of my own has progressed very quickly for the relatively short amount of time I have been playing bass. I play a multitude of different styles and genres of music, but I have been absolutely engrossed in progressive rock, particularily Dream Theater for a quite a while now.

With that, I set off to learn a little greater than a 1/4 of Dream Theaters repetoire, which stands as my greatest accomplishment at least when it comes to emulating others. I've been playing in bands ever since I was in my early teens, and I played my first 1000+ spectator show when I was 14. I was lucky enough early on in life to meet a circle of highly talented individuals and through thick and thin I managed to meet my best friends and band brothers during those times.

Although I play in a metal band now, we are heavily influenced by prog and this musical incaration is going into the studios to record for the first time very soon.