1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

And, but also, another first build thread

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by rythman6969, Mar 14, 2010.

1. rythman6969

rythman6969

May 29, 2007
    jersEY
    :hyper::hyper::hyper::hyper::D:D:D:D:)yes, another one. :D Hi, I've posted here but this is my first build. Inspired by several custom basses I've had made, and by all the pics on TB and all the luthiers and builders here I finally went and started my first....and second lol....builds. I have thought about the details for years. Going over it until I hit something I thought I wouldn't know how or be able to do. Then I would come here and find the answer and/or go over it in my head or on paper until I felt I now had that taken care of also. And just moved on, in my head, like that.

Then I got a Wishbass. Now, I always liked neck-thru. And when I saw how simply the wish was put together( I mean that in a good way ) I said, " I can do this ". The Wish came unfinished. That can be taken 2 ways. You choose. But I will say I had to shape the neck and level the fingerboard. So I got some practice there. And it came out great and is a great playing and sounding fretless.
    And so, I went online and found some wood and started my own. I had no clamps, jig saw, router, planes, or just about anything else, but I got those things and followed my plans and have gotten to this point so far.
    I have made quite a few mistakes, but nothing I could not recover from.( and most importantly learn from ) and I think it is going to be solid and should be a good player.
    the neck is one piece yellowheart
    body wings are canarywood
    fb is bloodwood
    bridge and nut will be pink ivory
    34"
    4 string fretless
    oil/wax finish
    red sperzel machine heads/tuners
    woodforbass004.jpg
    got the wood and cut to dimensions needed