1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

And here I am...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by evergroove, Apr 15, 2009.

1. evergroove

evergroove

Apr 15, 2009
    Evergreen, CO
    When I started playing guitar I started on a bass. Within the first year my parents bought me a Squire strat to learn on and the bass took a back seat. Fast forward to now... and I find myself going back to the bass guitar because a client needs me to stand in as a bassist (with the option to stay on) and, honestly, it'd be cool to work with the guys over the long haul. Anyway...

The style is hard rock/metal but the, one, guitarist plays a reasonable rig (a Metaltronix set to 50w). So a bass that can handle the hard rock/metal genre is in order as well as a suitable amp.

Here's the trick, being a recording studio owner I'd love the bass to be versatile to offer up to clients that don't have that great of a bass (it happens a lot).

Some suggestions offered to me so far are a basic p-bass, a G&L Tribue L-2000, a Musicman SUB or Stingray, or a P-Bass Special Deluxe (with the j-pup in the bridge and p-pups).

So... all of those are pretty different from each other. Would you guys say that one is more versatile than another? The L-2000 Tribute certainly seems to have MANY tonal options with all the toggle switches and the option of active/passive, etc.

Thanks guys... this looks like a great forum and most likely a new home for me.

-Brad

2. Spinal Tapper

Spinal Tapper

Nov 15, 2007
    Chicago
    Sometimes more tonal options doesnt necessarily mean better - unless that's what you're looking for. I know a lot of players that never advance in skill because they're always messing with the tone knobs trying to get that "perfect" tone LOL

Get the P bass and be done with it!

3. stflbn

stflbn

May 10, 2007