1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Any "surf" bassists here?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by b-bottom, Oct 5, 2013.

1. b-bottom

b-bottom

Dec 18, 2006
    Knoxville TN
    I've been playing in a surf band on the side from my rock band for a few months now and I'm really digging it.

I'm curious if anyone else here is in, or has ever been in a surf band.

2. My previous band played a lot of surf music and I really enjoyed it.

I ended up buying a bass that I thought fit the genre well. It is a sonic blue Squier Precision. I was using my Alembic and I just thought it was a little weird. Plus it is heavy and my shoulder decided it had enough and was complaining.

3. Dubsly

Dubsly Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2011
    Maryland
    I've been playing in one for a few years now. It's been a learning experience, and a lot of fun.

It's cool, because with both originals and covers you can play to any crowd by speeding up/ slowing down or adjusting your volume and use of distortion. Older folks remember hearing alot of the old standards, and if you play loud and fast enough, you can play at punk shows.

I've discovered some pretty cool bands in the genre, too.

4. b-bottom

b-bottom

Dec 18, 2006
    Knoxville TN
    I'm curious about whether any of you guys use any effects. In all of the surf music that I've heard the bass seem to be pretty clean, so that's how I've been playing it as well.

5. gerard_66six

gerard_66six

Nov 21, 2011
    Philippines
    I'm not in a "Surf Band" but whenever there is a chance I come to my hometown I surf (even though I sucked both on playing bass and surfing)..

Does that count?...

Cheers,
    gerard

6. Dubsly

Dubsly Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2011
    Maryland