1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

anybody a public school teacher?

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by basspirate777, Aug 20, 2012.

1. basspirate777

basspirate777

Mar 21, 2009
    Latrobe, Pa
    Hey folks. About to go back to school to finish my degree. Finally. Really considering a mus ed program. I love teaching, but was wondering....do those of you who teach find the job complimentary to being a dedicated instrumentalist?

I am a dedicated eb player of 20 years/db for 5 but am focusing on db during school and hope to play jazz gigs/get into a regional orchestra/compose after graduation (besides being an excellent educator!).

2. MostlyBass

MostlyBass

Mar 3, 2002
    Oak Park, IL
    Yep, I am. And I'm similar to you - I love teach but I love to play. I did my bachelor's in music ed and masters in performance. If you want to maintain your playing career, teach elementary or middle school as those will give MUCH MORE free time than teaching high school. Being a high school teacher involves a lot of after school time for musicals, field trips, clubs, etc. My job is mainly middle school with 2 days of elementary. It's awesome and I have time to practice and play.

Let me know any questions!!

3. I have been teaching public school music for fifteen years, as well as staying busy with private teaching, gigging, and keeping up a practice routine. I can tell you it is a challenge to keep practice and gigs together while working to be an effective teacher, and sometimes I have to either pass on gigs or put off practicing/studying for a while. If you can achieve a good balance it can be a great life.

4. bejoyous

bejoyous

Oct 23, 2005
    London, Ontario