Anyone know a teacher in central New Jersey?

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by appler, Aug 29, 2005.

1. appler

appler Guest

I tried the forum search but I didn't come up with anything. Does anybody know a good teacher in the central New Jersey area? (Union county) Classical or jazz; either one works. I've been playing for about three years. Thanks a lot!
  2. Freddels

Freddels Musical Anarchist Supporting Member

Apr 7, 2005
    Sutton, MA
    I don't know NJ but isn't Rufus Reid there? I think a little bit a travel would be well worth it to study with him.
  3. Ben Rose

Ben Rose

Jan 12, 2004
    Vince Fay is also in that area.
  4. Ben Joella

Ben Joella

May 31, 2004
    Boca Raton, FL
    I studied one summer with Paul Harris of the New Jersey Symphony and was very impressed. I would highly reccomend him.
  5. appler

appler Guest

Thanks, guys. I was fortunate enough to have a master class with Mr. Harris once several years ago that was nothing short of incredible, but I'm only a high school student so I was looking for someone local to me. I also had a couple lessons with Cameron Brown when he subbed for Joris Teepe (another great player and teacher) at NJPAC's jazz for teens program. I've found a very good teacher in my area who happens to post here occasionally. Thanks for all your help!
  6. Justin K-ski

Justin K-ski

May 13, 2005
    If you're serious about music, I would look into the pre-college programs at MSM or juilliard. Linda McKnight at MSM is a great teacher and Joel Braun (Eugene Levinson's teaching assistant) is basically levinson except younger and and Russian. With the recent passing of the great Homer Mensch (may he rest in peace) there will be a new faculty member at juilliard and pre-college soon, look out for the big anouncement.

They're both great programs (complete with orchestra, theory, etc). No offense to the great teachers in NJ but you can't beat the education you'd get at one of those places.