Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

article on female bassists

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by missbassguitar, Apr 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. missbassguitar

missbassguitar

Apr 14, 2004
    Hi,

I’m a freelance music journalist doing some research for an article for Bass Guitar Magazine, if you're a female bass player, I'd like to ask you your views for a piece on girl bassists.

1) What inspired you to take up bass playing?

2) Are there any female bass players you look up to?

3) Do you think there are enough female bass players out there as a role model for younger players?

4) Have you seen the new Daisy Rock bass guitars with novelty shapes like hearts, flowers etc? Do you think they will inspire other girls to take up bass?

5) One girl bassist I spoke to said “riot grrl is dead” and reckoned girl bassists were few and far between? Do you think that’s true and if so why?

6) What style of bass do you play? E.g. rock. Punk, alternative, jazz, funk, blues…etc

7) What kind of bass guitars do you play?

4-string electric bass acoustic bass
    5-string electric bass fretless bass
    6-string electric bass
    8-string electric bass
    12-string electric bass

8) If you saw a bass you REALLY liked, just how much would you be willing to spend on it?

9) Do you use any effects (FX) pedals?

10) Do you play in a band?

11) Are you: self taught? Had lessons from a private tutor? Learned to play bass from a friend or learned bass at school with your music teacher?

12) How long have you been playing?

13) Do you read Bass Guitar Magazine?

14) What country do you live in ?

Thanks for your contribution,

Petra Jones
    Freelance Music Journalist and Bass Player

2. 1) What inspired you to take up bass playing?
    Everybody else plays the g*tar!!

2) Are there any female bass players you look up to?