Ashdown ABM 500

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by philzbass, Jan 21, 2006.

1. I Just started looking into Ashdown amps and I'm wondering if anyone has any input (good or bad). I'm new to this brand but I've heard alot of good things.

Well I did hear one bad review, was it a fluke?
  2. Jason Carota

Jason Carota Gold Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2002
    Lowell, MA
    The ABM 500 is a great amp. It produces a warm, yet clean tone with plenty of volume. The 'input mix' knob on the pre allows you to add some grit to your sound if you wish. You have a couple of options as-far-as the chassis goes, too. You can get the padded carry-along version (blue with black padding) or the rack-mount version (chrome face.)

IMO, you can't go wrong with Ashdown.
  3. Keeaumoku

Dec 29, 2004
    Ditto this!

I have the chrome-faced rackmounted version. Besides being a great performing amp, it looks cool... stage lights sparkle off of the chrome.

The only negative things I will say about this amp are purely cosmetic. They bug me nonetheless, but I've grown to accept them:

1.) Power switch is in the back... I prefer that to be in the front...
    2.) Tuner out is in the front... should be in the back...
    3.) While the chrome face is really cool, IMO, the lable fonts for all of the switches, dials and sliders are pretty difficult to read...

...other than that, you couldn't go wrong if you went with an ABM500 Evo-II. :smug:
  4. emjazz

emjazz Supporting Member

Feb 23, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Not many gigs go by where I don't get a compliment on my sound. I've struggled with many an amp soundwise untill I got the Ashdown. I run it nearly flat and it sounds big, warm and clear. Great amp all around.
  5. Fawkes007

Sep 13, 2005
    SF Bay Area