Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

attempted ebay scam, help pls

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by SnoMan, Mar 25, 2005.

1. SnoMan

SnoMan Words Words Words Supporting Member

Jan 27, 2001
    Charleston, WV
    Hi, I have a tuba of mine on ebayand a guy just sent me this question about it. It looks fishy as hell, the guy hasn't been a member any amount of time and it reminds me of a lot of scams I've heard of of. So, if it smells like ___ it probably is ___.

My question, I'm not familiar with cashiers checks, so can I easily be burned by accepting one? I'm happy to take this persons money if I can get the check thingie and allow it to clear. This just sounds like trouble though.

Here is what the guy wrote

Q: agentwiljoams03@yahoo.comHello I am a procurement agent interested in immediate purchase of your item.After several consideration over the advert placed on the website,my client has really shown interest in it and would really want to issue the payment in form of Cashiers Check.Will you be accepting a Cashiers Check? The cashiers check that will be drawn by my client and would include the cost for shipping of this item to my client .A shipping agent in africa shall solely be responsible for the shippment of the item.An additional sum of $100 will also be added to end the auction. Please contact me asap via email for futher questions as regards this transaction if you really show willingness in selling this item asap.Thank You and I am expecting your response

I wanted to get some opinions from people who may be more expierenced in these kinda dealings. I really wanna sell this horn so I can buy some bass goodies. If anyone wants a link to my item, just PM me(not trying to promote my item here, just the problem)

Thanks for any help.

2. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    SCAM

SCAM

SCAM

SCAM

SCAM

-Mike