1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Audition for EMF

Discussion in 'Orchestral Auditions [DB]' started by tlau5, Mar 8, 2008.

1. tlau5

tlau5

Mar 8, 2008
    Hello

I'm a fairly decent bass student who just auditioned for emf. I was principal all state bass sophomore year in Florida and my teacher said that I would probably get in to the camp. However its ridiculously expensive. Do any of you know how much emf or similar camps give to bass players. I played the eccles movement 1 and the dragonetti movement 1 along with the mahler excerpt and the wagner excerpt. It would be great if you guys can give some opinions on my shot. I made a few mistakes but it was overall an okay audition

2. tlau5

tlau5

Mar 8, 2008
    i meant scholarship money. I think I might qualify for some financial aid as well. Also are there any other camps that are worthwhile but not way too competitive

3. sibass89

sibass89

Jan 29, 2006
    Cincinnati, OH
    Well scholarship and financial aid vary at EMF but they tend to be very generous. I met very few people who didn't receive anything while I was there and I was offered a full scholarship. They have many work study positions that more than half the students participate in as wells as a very large and generous pool of benefactors for their scholarships. Even if you get in and do not receive a scholarship, contact Melissa and the office and let them know that you need a scholarship to be there, they will work out something and get you as much money as they can. The EMF faculty is great and they play great music. I hope you get in because it would be a very enjoyable summer.

4. Peter Ferretti

Peter Ferretti

Jun 7, 2005
    NYC