1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

B2R buzz when used with SVPCL

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mgess, Mar 24, 2009.

1. mgess

mgess

Apr 8, 2008
    Virginia
    Hey,

I am new to using separate preamps and poweramps. I have always used integrated heads. However, I recently purchased an used ampeg svpcl. I still need to save the funds to get my Crest CA9 so, in the meantime, I thought I could use my old Ampeg B2R with a poweramp in on the back panel.

I tried connecting the two using a 1/4 cable. As soon as I plug into the poweramp in on the B2R, it hums like crazy. It does this while the svpcl is not plugged in at all. So, I don't believe it is the preamp.

Is there something else that I could/should be doing? OR is the B2R the problem?

Thanks

2. Did you try a different cable. You did use a screened cable yes?

Paul

3. mgess

mgess

Apr 8, 2008
    Virginia
    I did. I tried different cables and used speaker cables which I believe are shielded.

4. it is VERY unusual to find shielded speaker cables, I've never seen one. You should use an INSTRUMENT cable. That's where your hum is coming from.

Paul

5. toobalicious

toobalicious

May 6, 2008
    triad, nc
    ground loop.

try lifting the ground on the preamp. you can use a two-prong cheater sort of deal if you dont have a fancier way.

6. Very unsafe way to do things. However it's happening when the pre-amp is not plugged in!

Paul

7. JustRob

JustRob

Dec 15, 2008
    Central USA
    Possibly a bad ground on the B2R Power amp in jack?
    Plug your cable in to the jack, at the other end of the cable short the tip to the sleeve with a piece of wire, the hum should stop. If it does not, the B2R is at fault. If it does stop, there's something else going on. (duh)