1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

BA115

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BassfromPA, Apr 23, 2010.

1. BassfromPA

BassfromPA

Apr 23, 2010
    Hello all,

I was following a thread that was posted about this amp and decided to register because I don't know whats going on with the silly thing. Let me summarize as best I can, hopefully I don't leave anything important out.

The back story is "I can't believe what big companies will put their names on!" I bought a 100W Crate (don't remember the model number) and it started acting up, drove the 50! mil round trip to take it to their certified repair guy who worked above his garage (how is he THE guy again?) He failed to fix it twice so they replaced it with the BA115 which played for about 3 months then blew the outputs. High quality stuff here...

Anyway, I'm an electronics tech but I really don't have the equipment here at home to properly test everything. I replaced the output FETs and tested everything I could reasonably test with a soldering iron and a DMM. The Driver transistors read okay, I even popped them out to see if I could test them in my DMM's transistor slot, but the leads were cut so short that not only could i not check it that way, but I checked, double, and triple checked them when I soldered them back onto the board. Surprised they even made contact. Checked all the zeners, checked caps for opens and shorts, did the usual visual tests and after I replaced the outputs, I hooked it up through a dim bulb tester (a real makeshift piece of work if i do say so myself) and that was just fine (bulb flared and settled as I would expect it to).