Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bart J Polarity?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by J. Brunka, Feb 10, 2006.

1. J. Brunka

J. Brunka Supporting Member

Aug 9, 2004
    Mo'town, N.J.
    I have a MIJ Fender Jazz I bought used that came with Bartolini active pickups. The controls are blend, volume, tone. Since I have had it the bass works great when one pup is on but when blending both of them the volume dies as if there was a phase or polarity problem.

I have taken the bass apart and checked the wiring based on some diagrams I found here and at Bart's site. Everything seems fine but I am far from an expert (I play mostly upright).

The only other info I can give is that I hear a little bit of noise as I start to turn the blend pot out of full left or full right position. I don't know if this means I should replace the blend pot or is this a more common problem due to faulty wiring that I haven't been able to detect.

Thanks in advance for the help.

2. luknfur

luknfur

Jan 14, 2004
    DIXIE
    FWIW:

It's definitely possible (especially given that would be the control configuration per Bart diagram) but it's unlikely the Barts are active 1) becuase they don't show often and 2) Bart has made very few active pups let alone active J's. If it's the current 9E J set then in fact, the neck pup in that set is actually passive with the bridge pup containing the preamp. If there's not a half dozen wires coming from the bridge pup including a red lead going to the battery, it's not a 9E J set. And if there's not a lead (invariably red) coming from the pups that runs to the battery clip they're not active at all, at least in my experience. There's a wiring diagram for the 9E set on their site.