Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

basic construction questions

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by mattzink, Dec 9, 2003.

1. mattzink

mattzink

Jun 21, 2002
    Bloomington, IN
    hello all!
    it looks like some of these questions are addressed in the newbie links. but i'll post them - if they are addressed in the newbie links, simply ignore the quesiton.

Because I can't afford to buy an upright, and becuase I'm just a beginner (and it is therefore difficult to justify buying a nice bass) I will be building my first upright bass. I have been inspired to do so by the success of some others in this forum - I love the "can do" spirit! if my basic bass works out, i'll build another using nicer materials. This bass won't be nice, but i know i'll learn a lot.

Here's what I'm shooting for: a bass style similar to a Merchant bass (merchantbass.com) made of plywood. I'm planning on buying the neck with the finger board already attached.

here are some of my preliminary questions:
    What does it mean to "hot glue" something? How to i do this?

What thickness of plywood is typcially used on plywood basses? Any suggested thicknesses, particularly since this bass will not be carved in any way? Are there other considerations for the plywood (like number of ply) that i should think about?

What is the standard measure from the bottom of the bass (excluding end pin) to the heel, where the neck is glued to the bass?

I'm sure i'll have other questions, but these are the prominent ones in my head right now. thanks for everything! Matt

2. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA