Bass Amps for Jazz

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by PJEBassist, Aug 3, 2004.

1. PJEBassist

Aug 3, 2004
    Paducah, KY
    Hey there, I've been playing with Jazz Ensemble now for the past 4 months, and I'm finally taking over, but I need an amp :meh: I've been playing Bass for about half a year now, and it is my passion. I play for at least an hour a day. I've had an EB for 4 months now, I'd played guitar for about 4 years. I had been using a little guitar amp I use for my acoustic. But what's a good amp for Jazz Ensemble? it's a 15 piece jazz group, and the most popular in the area. I also play electric bass in a punk band (diverse music tastes :cool: ) and in a church band. I was thinking power, but that can be contained. Maybe 2x12 Cab with Head? Any input would be helpful, thanks!

2. Francois Blais

Francois Blais Supporting Member

Dec 11, 1999
    Québec, Canada
    Did you check the Newbie links first?
    There's a lot of info available in the archives...
  3. Ditto....
    I don't wanna be negative,but, in terms of passion for musical instruments in general and the double bass in particular, playing for at least an hour a day is not gonna do a helluva lot of good....well, maybe if you're playing a 3-4 hr. gig at night along with it.......i'd suggest you spend at least three hours a day just to get your chops tough.....hope I didn't burst your bubble, hang in there and give it ALL you got!!!
  4. PJEBassist

Aug 3, 2004
    Paducah, KY
    Hate to burst your bubble, Paul. AT LEAST 1 hour a day means there can be more. Im' sorry but when you've just turned 16 and have been holding a job all summer and having Jazz practices, I'm not getting in as much practice time. Going from 4 hours a day to 1 or 2 is killer on your playing.