Bass Clef Proficiency

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Visirale, Aug 9, 2004.

1. Visirale

Mar 23, 2003
    I've been playing the bass for around two years now, and the one thing I see holding me back from reaching my full potential is music reading. My sitatuation is a little unique. Before bass I played clarinet and bass clarinet for 5 years (now 7), and both parts for those are written in treble clef. I can read bass clef, but I'm not actually reading. I'm translating it into treble clef. What scares me is that I'm good at it. I can do it pretty fast, but not as fast as I could read treble clef.

So this year, I decided bass was going to be my primary instrument, and quit the bass clarinet and clarinet. This is helping my brain escape from the monopoly that the treble clef had on it. I'm also taking AP theory this year, which should just really help me as a musician in general. In the first week of it, I'm reading bass clef more than I had ever really done so before.

But I'm also finding that I'm reading alto and tenor clef in the same method I used to read bass; as in not naturally reading them either, carrying bad habits over to even more clefs.

So here's my question. How do I teach myself to read bass clef NATURALLY. I was thinking getting a book with lots and lots of walking quarter notes. If this is a good way, could you suggest a book?

Thanks for your time. It's appreciated.

2. Kavorka

Mar 28, 2002
    Austin, Texas
    I've got the same problem - 10 years of trumpet has me very proficient with treble and complete squirrelly with bass clef. However, I'm using a book that works very well for me:

"Music Reading for Bass: The Complete Guide" by Wendi Hrehovcsik (published by Hal Leonard). I got it from (great site, by the way).

Maybe it will work for you, too!
  3. leanne

May 29, 2002
    Rochester, NY