1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass guitar fingertyle with long nails??

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by lostintime, Mar 10, 2013.

1. lostintime

lostintime

Feb 23, 2013
    Greece
    Hello i started playing bass guitar a long ago(fingerstyle)but i also play classical guitar which means that i must have long nails.How much this will affect negatively bass playing(and sound maybe?)
    Thank you very much:)

2. I feel that it positively effects my playing, actually. I have long nails on my picking hand just because I like the attack you get with a pick but I prefer to play fingerstyle.

3. Schmorgy

Schmorgy

Jul 2, 2012
    Canada
    I know that Geddy Lee often keeps one or two nails longer than the others for the single reason of picking strings with his finger.

Actually, two bassists whose playing style is beneficial to people with long nails would be Stanley Clark and Les Claypool. Both make frequent use of a "Fanning" technique for chords where you flick 3-4 fingers across the strings (like a pick)

Example: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M1C2SFrwdq0&t=0m30s

Whether or not you like Primus or that song in particular (he does use really dissonant 4ths to achieve his signature sound) it's a good demonstration of the technique.

4. Double E

Double E I ain't got no time to play... Supporting Member

Dec 24, 2005
    Cleveland, OH
    I've experimented with keeping my nails long for bass playing, but they just wear out and break.

5. Stealth

Stealth

Feb 5, 2008
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Double E, it's a genetic thing. Some people just don't have durable nails. Not sure if having an acrylic nail on top of the regular one would help - a manicurist could help out with that, though.