1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Bass guitar for beginner

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by headbanger70, Oct 27, 2018.

1. headbanger70

headbanger70

Oct 27, 2018
    Hi guys,
    I'm new in bass playing. Since approx. 6 years I'm playing e-guitar.
    Now I beginn to write my own riffs/songs. So I need a bass for my bass lines :)

But there are some requirements I have:
    • Budget max. 400.-€/ $460
    • Music style: hard rock, metal
    • Need the bass only for songwriting. That means I play it not really often. Mostly I play my electric guitar
    • I play the bass guitar through my usb-interface --> daw --> vst amp + cab. So no "real" one is available!
    • brand: Ibanez, Epiphone, Fender, ESP LTD, Schecter....not really sure which one is the best for my kind of music
    • primarily I will play with a plek
    • humbucker/single coil --> not sure....I only know that single coil will make some "noise" regarding their construction style. I need one with a punchy and powerful output
    Haver you some recommendation for me?
    What do you think which one is the best in this price range and for my music style?

Thanks a lot for your feedback
    headbanger

2. headbanger70

headbanger70

Oct 27, 2018
    72 clicks and no answer....hey what's up????
    are beginner in bass playing not welcome????

3. Nebula24

Nebula24

Nov 23, 2017
    Norman, OK
    Go to store and try a lot on price range. Go for the one that feels best. Or remember the top 3-4 and go research em more.

If play guitar might like shortscale. Ibanez micro, gretsch 2220 or squire jaguar ss are all good $200-$300ish shorties.

4. MordBass

MordBass

Nov 1, 2017
    Midwest