Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bassists with small hands...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by kommunistik, Jan 17, 2004.

1. I am a bassist with small hands....anyone else have this problem? its hard to get around the large frets...and i don't consider going to the guitar cuz bass is so sexy. But, what i wanna know is, any good basses out there for bassists with small hands?

2. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Fender Jazz Bass. Smallest neck ive played. Its literally really, really skinny.

3. My Music Man Sterling has a tiny little neck. Pretty much like a jazz neck. That thing is almost too easy to play. I have to watch myself so that I don't be playin' all crazy-like. To validate my input, I should tell you that I'm only 5'6". We little people gotta stick together.

4. i'll go try it soemtime then, I also heard the Fender Mustangs are pretty good, but i havent tried one out cuz i the guitar centers near my house never has one, and how's the weight on the jazz bass btw?

5. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    it is pretty heavy ,but a nice strap takes care of that.

The mustang is short scale i belive, and im not sure if you want that.

6. YES!! US LITTLE PEOPLE MUST REJOICE!!!! :caps:
    i'm also 5'6'' ahahaha, i've played a music man before, i think it was the SUB but that thing is kinda on the heavy side....

7. My Sterling's not real heavy. Definitely not as heavy as a SUB. I'm pretty buff though, I'm about as wide as I am tall. :meh:

You should get a six string. That would get your hands in shape, and help you overcome lilguyitis. Oh, and just so you know, we're not actually short. We're high performance low profile.

8. RAM

RAM

May 10, 2000
    Chicago, IL