Beginner(ish) Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Reapocalypse, Nov 7, 2011.

1. Reapocalypse

Reapocalypse

Nov 7, 2011
    I have been playing bass for a couple years so I am not really a beginner but I'm not amazing and I don't have a lot of money. I need a Bass Guitar. I don't really want a bass with active pick-ups but I don't mind all that much, I need it to be fairly inexpensive (please-no Squiers), and I want to play Rock and I want it to have a nice slap sound. A nice booming tone would be nice to. Does anyone have some recommendations? Just remember that I want it to be as basic as possible without being a sub-par bass with no quality.

2. NightTripper

NightTripper

Oct 20, 2011
    You say no Squiers, but I think you may not be giving them enough credit. Most people seem to think, and myself included, that the Vintage Modified series and the Classic Vibe series rival some of the Fenders in quality. People also seem to really like the Jaguars.

Look into Epiphone and Ibanez. Personally I am a fan of Epiphone, the EB-3s and Thunderbirds are pretty cool.

3. Reapocalypse

Reapocalypse

Nov 7, 2011
    Thanks, I might look into the Squiers but last I looked I couldn't find much good about them but I will look again. I am also seriously considered the Thunderbird (Epi) and their Les Paul Special.

4. jabsys

jabsys

Mar 30, 2011
    UK
    Most of the negative Squier reviews will be of the affinity models, the Vintage Modified & Classic Vibe models are generally as good as the mexican fenders in my experience.

5. BLACK6565

BLACK6565

Oct 17, 2011
    Check out the Dean Metalman 2A basses, man I got the demonator and am totally in love with it!! and it was under $200 bux (I did get a good deal thou) I believe they retail about $299 .

6. SMaubass

SMaubass

Aug 19, 2011