1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bent neck after installing 5ths tuning set

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by jimconklin, Jan 25, 2012.

1. jimconklin

jimconklin

Aug 24, 2011
    I am new to the double bass. I bought a used one recently and learned that some bassists were using strings tuned in fifths. I bought a set and installed them. The strings seemed too high for bowing and I cut down the bridge. As I brought the strings up to pitch I heard creaks and cracks. The strings now were higher over the fingerboard than when I had measured to cut the bridge. When I laid a straight edge along the fingerboard I saw there was quite a gap where the neck joins the body. I loosened the strings and removed the bridge. When I put the straight edge along the fingerboard a few hours later I saw that the fingerboard was fairly straight again but there was a noticeable upward curvature in the lower couple of inches. I wonder if the cracking noises I heard indicate glued joints coming undone somewhere in the interior, say at the neck, and whether I will have to install strings with softer (gut?) interiors for lower tension at pitch.

2. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg

Jul 7, 2004
    Chicago
    You need to take the bass to a bass luthier before stringing it up again.

3. +1

I'll add that I am happy to read of people taking up new musical instruments (or any activity) at the age of 87. Kudos to you. (Maybe it was you creaking and cracking as you tuned up? :bag: Just kidding ;) )