Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by cobrasneverdie, May 6, 2004.

1. for those who go i have a few questions. im a freshman in highschool right now and im considering collages (preferably a music school, of couse) and im considering joining jazz band right now. any idea on what kind of scholarships i can get by joining jazz band? and im going to take some music theroy classes next year. how much does berkly cost per year to attend? and are there any other music collages i should consider going to?
  2. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Dec 13, 1999
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.
    I wuz going to cut out a bunch of adds for collages from tha noospaper and make a nise college out of them.

Be sure you go someplace with a good English department.
  3. grovest

Feb 26, 2002
    Hi Cobrasneverdie. I reccomend you talk to your high school counselor about this. Berklee is a marque school and isn't something you can get into (much less stay in) without a lot of sacrifice. You should explore its website to learn more about it. Berklee has a page just for you at

There are a lot of universities in and around Illinois, too.

About the scholarships, your best route is to demonstrate need (have limited income) and potential (get excellent grades). Berklee itself awards some ( ), but you are more likely to get scholarships from local groups in your community. Again, this is something your high school counselor can tell you about.
  4. BoiNtC

Nov 25, 2002
    NYC, USA
    U of Miami was recommended to me by someone in the industry, John Patitucci is head of the music department here in City College.
  5. :D Wonderful, Ed.

6. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Moved to General Instruction.
  7. Moongarm

Apr 10, 2004