Best second-hand combo bass amp for a beginner?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Lucca Rodrigues, Oct 21, 2021.

1. Hi TB, this is my first post here.
    I started playing bass back in early February, when I got my first bass (Tagima TJB4 Jazz-style bass) and a cheapo no-name 15-watt combo practice amp. Recently, I've been looking to upgrade my amp and buy a nice second-hand unit for a better sound. So far, I've found the following models in my area, all roughly the same price:
    • Hartke A70
    • Hartke A100
    • Hartke HD75
    • Fender Rumble 40 (v3 model)
    • Fender Rumble 75 (older Rumble model)
    • Fender Rumble 30 (older Rumble model)
    • Peavey Max 115 (60W model)
    Any thoughts on which unit might be the best? Pros and cons for a specific model are greatly appreciated. Any other particularly interesting amps that you think might be worth tracking down? Thanks!

Last edited: Oct 21, 2021
    Peter Torning, Bobo and CallMeAl like this.
  2. Riff Ranger

Riff Ranger Supporting Member

Mar 22, 2018
    Bigfoot Country
    The good news is that pretty much any of those will do better than what you’ve got; the not as good news is that that won’t narrow it down much ;) the Peavey is probably the most neutral sounding of the bunch and the loudest, so if you don’t yet know what kind of sound you want, I might suggest going that route (with the caveat that I’m a big fan of Peavey). The Rumbles will do vintage well (at least the newer ones, ironically), the Hartkes will sound more edgy.

If you have a good idea of how you’d like to sound, or have a style or player you’d like to emulate, let us know and we could suggest other models; but you’ve already turned up some good options :thumbsup:

3. Little Rock

Little Rock Supporting Member

Aug 23, 2015
    Montreal, Canada
    I have tried several different brands and models over the years and really liked the tone of Hartke and Fender Rumble V3.