Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Best way to learn bass technique?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by rockin982, Jan 27, 2004.

1. rockin982

rockin982

Jan 27, 2004
    NJ, USA
    Hi. I'm new to the bass, and trying to learn, but here's where I'm at.

I've been a drummer for abour 15 years, so I have a very good understanding of rhythm. I understand basic music theory, as well as a LITTLE chord theory, and I can read, although I can't sightread very well since I have no real practice in it. I also discovered a good while ago that I have perfect pitch. I can listen to a piece and pick out what every instrument is doing, although I only have the technical proficiency on drums to actually play any of it.

That said, what's the best way to being learning bass technique? I can listen to most songs and hear exactly what the bass player is playing in terms of notes and rhythms, unless we're talking about something like "A Show of Hands", and I'm just starting to understand how a bass line is constructed (I think), but I don't know how to approach playing a given bass line in terms of fretting, fingering, etc. I'm also trying to figure out the best way to learn the notes on a fretboard.

I want to start out learning how to play bass lines, but eventually I want to jump into melodic soloing, a la Michael Manring, John Patitucci, Victor Wooten, and others (although I know I'm years away from that kind of technical proficiency).

I'm hoping to teach myself, but if I really need to take lessons, let me know that as well. Thanx!

2. RicPlaya

RicPlaya

Apr 22, 2003
    Whitmoretucky MI