1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

blending pickup and mic help

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by mcfrankson, Sep 29, 2010.

1. mcfrankson

mcfrankson Supporting Member

Jan 9, 2008
    I have a variety of questions on this issue as I've never done it before. How's it done really? I presently have a realist and I'm looking to buy a dpa 4099. How would I blend the two? I have an amp with 2 inputs I don't know if that helps or is required or what. How's it done?

2. hensonbass

hensonbass Supporting Member

Feb 25, 2004
    Atlanta, GA
    Very few two channel amps can do this: Euphonic Audio, Acoustic Image, Markbass..

Your two channel amp may or may not work:

1. It needs at least one XLR input for your microphone or you need to use an low to high impedance adapter. This does not guarantee that the mic will sound good through the amp especially if the eq is not voiced to eliminate problem frequencies.

2. Does one channel have at least a 1MegOHM impedance input for the Realist? Ultimately it matters how it sounds to you but this is a generalization.

3. Does your amp have a way of phase flipping one of the channels in case the two signals are canceling each other out? I think this is VERY IMPORTANT IME.

If NO is the answer for questions 2 and 3 then you could get a Fdeck HPF pre for the Realist and take care of those issues.

Otherwise you can get a dedicated two channel blending preamp like the Headway EDB-1 and nail it from the get-go. There are other preamps but I think the Headway is the best.

3. William Hoffman

William Hoffman Supporting Member

Jul 25, 2009
    Lodi, California
    everything he said, +2.

generally speaking, the mic and the Realist need to be EQ'd slightly differently.