1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Boss ODB-3 for a basic Muse sound - Yes or No?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by KeTeVemCovers, Aug 6, 2012.

1. KeTeVemCovers

KeTeVemCovers

Aug 6, 2012
    Hi, as you can see I'm a newbie here so don't comment on how I don't know how to use TalkBass properly :D

So, I wan't to kinda imitate a basic Muse bass sound (not like Hysteria, but like Bliss or Hyper Music) and I was thinking of buying the Boss ODB-3. Apparently, it has a balance knob wich is like a blend with the clean signal. And I heard some sound samples on the internet, I seem to like the tone.
    Is it great for the sound I'm looking for or do you recommend some other stomboxes (If you do, please write some)

Cheers, Matt.

2. willbassyeah

willbassyeah

Oct 9, 2011
    Singapore
    I would go with tafm though seems to be more versatile and appropiste for muse

3. rr5025

rr5025

Nov 12, 2008
    There's a Huge muse sticky that has the answer to your question. Next time search before you start the thread. Chances are someone's asked the question already!

Hyper music is the animato and bliss is the muff( iirc). I would say don't waste your time with the boss. Cheapest options would probably be a ehx bbm and a digitech hard wide cm-2 (might be a different letter/number designation) supposedly that sounds somewhat like the animato.

If it were me I'd try to get my hands on a black Russian muff. They're not nearly as cheap as they used to be but they're still around (I love mine). If you're handy you can find schematics and build a clone (it's easier than it sounds).

Definitely check out that thread though, it will answer a ton of muse related questions you may have.

4. KeTeVemCovers

KeTeVemCovers

Aug 6, 2012

Thanks, you just made my life easier!