1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Brahms Symphony #2 D maj.

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by jaff, Dec 14, 2011.

1. jaff

jaff

Jun 7, 2006
    Arizona
    Probably a dumb question but I'm a relative beginner working on this piece and wonder if any of you more experienced folks have any comments to make about learning the various parts of this symphony. I keep listening to it and keep practicing the riffs and phrases but have trouble getting it to flow. Getting up to speed on the scalar passages is difficult for me so far. Probably another 500 hours of practice will help..

2. dtosky

dtosky

Jan 4, 2010
    The obvious answer is old-fashioned slow practice, but I'm sure you already knew that. Something that really helped me polish and develop "flow" for the slurred eighth note runs in the 4th movement was the practice technique of "skeletonizing." As in deconstructing it so you really understand what notes fall on the strong beats and learning to hear the actual harmonic underpinning. Start by reducing it to two half notes (only playing the first note of each group of four) and then to four quarter notes (playing the first of each 2, and the quarters as written.) In my experience sometimes playing only quarter notes can be more challenging than what is actually printed! It certainly requires more mental focus than simply turning up the metronome slowly but I think it will help you truly learn the notes and achieve what you are looking for. And that is just one of many, many practice techniques. As for the first movement... subdivide the rhythms very accurately!