Break the Cycle

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by DaemonBass, May 6, 2004.

1. DaemonBass

Mar 29, 2004
    Sacramento, CA
    I hope there is someone that can help me. But first let me explain my problem.

I picked up my first bass used 4 maybe 5 years ago. In the beginning I was thrilled to learn and play my favorite songs. My dad played the bass also I remember watching him play concerts, so somehow it was just in my blood. Now up until a few months ago I felt I was progressing naturally and self taught. This means playing by ear to recordings and trying to de-cypher some crappy tablature. Normally I will take a crappy tablature and use it as a blueprint to get me through the rough spots where I just can't figure it out. Usually it is incorrect but I will almost always edit it mentally to match the song. I have never played in a band only with other lesser musicians (that barely play) on guitar. I don't mean this as "I am so great" but merely that they have barely played guitar at all and they don't have any idea what they are doing.

Here is the problem: Lately I just can't pick up my bass and feel motivated and full of ideas like I used too. When I try I just end up playing the same tired old ideas that sound o' so familiar. When this happens I feel I am not progressing. Maybe two or three times a month I will figure out something new and exciting. Overall I would say I play bass at least one every day and seriously practice something when it occurs to me that practicing it will actually help me. I don't "practice" every day like people say because I can't think of anything to practice that's interesting to me. Sure, I can practice scale modes up the neck but who wants to hear that?

Anyone else experienced this frustrating mindset? My hunch is that just simply playing with some decent players would humble me and give me something to work on, but I don't have that right now, there must be some other solutions?
  2. Benjamin Strange