Bridge Crack inquiry

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by troutmask, May 31, 2012.

1. troutmask

troutmask

Nov 22, 2011
    Houston, TX
    Hello,
    I have a small crack on the base of my bridge on the e-side. It starts on the middle of the foot (of the bridge), which rests on the body, and moves up a little along the side.
    Still being a Newb, I might not have spotted the crack upon purchase, but, it does seem as if some glue has been applied to the crack, maybe not. I will insert a couple of pictures, I apologize in advance for the quality, it was a hard shot in my dark room. I'm just wondering as to whether I should take it back to the luthier and see about fixing it, or wait til I need to change the strings to address the problem. I'm starting lessons at school next week, and just want to be prepared.
    thanks a bunch

Attached Files:

2. Jake deVilliers

Jake deVilliers Commercial User

May 24, 2006
    Crescent Beach, BC
    Owner of The Bass Spa, String Repairman at Long & McQuade Vancouver
    I think you should take it back to the vendor and ask them to fix it. Its not going to cause a big problem, but over time it might separate enough to cause an annoying buzz...

3. MostlyBass

MostlyBass

Mar 3, 2002
    Oak Park, IL
    Whats the value of the bass?

4. troutmask

troutmask

Nov 22, 2011
    Houston, TX
    about 3k, I put up 2500 and gave him a 1/4 size engelhardt for the other 500 value,
    it's a 61' E.H Roth, either built by Albert Roth, or Ernst III.

5. if/when, you replace the bridge you might request whomever, to leave a little more "meat on da feat". after you fine tune your skills you can fine tune the instrument.

6. MostlyBass

MostlyBass

Mar 3, 2002
    Oak Park, IL
    Then it's worth having a new bridge cut. But if you have to suggest info about foot thickness, take it to someone else! And you may as well get an adjustable bridge if you do it. Expect to spend several hundred for quality work.

7. troutmask

troutmask